The Best Day Ever!

Standard

Spoiler alert! If you haven’t see the new Star Wars don’t read this because it has nothing but spoilers in it. And elated enthusiasm sprinkled with gushings of affection and ravings of a proud mama.

After far too many months since my last visit, I finally got a chance to see my kids in Memphis. Kelly and I usually make this a day trip since they are so close (but spending the night would be spectacular too). I was having serious Riley withdrawals. Jeremy’s work put him out of town a couple times, forcing us to postpone our visit. This weekend was THE trip and it was fantastic, stupendous, out of this world.

The day was astonishingly beautiful to start with. We watched the sun appear out over the horizon as it peeked through the swampland of eastern Arkansas.

ducks5

Driving past the flooded fields of this part of the state at this time of day is so breathtaking, stunning.

ducks6

After passing several trucks parked at the edge of the river and several odd bodies of water, all with a thin layer of ice coating them, mind you, we figured out what we were looking at.

Ducks!

ducks4

ducks3

Lots and lots of ducks! It’s duck hunting season. It’s amazing how many were in the sky and in the water on the ground. Flooded fields fed scores of them. We take this route several times a year, but never at this season. How awesome to see this force of nature at work. Hundreds of birds migrating.

ducks2

Some of the scenery was just plain breathtaking. I’ve always wanted to take a shot like this. Perfect!

A beautiful start to a perfect day with these awesome people!

Higgs1

We didn’t have any specific plans for the day. Just going to hang and visit and eat and play. Open some presents.

higgs3

and make Gramma beg to get him to face the camera.

higgs4

This weekend is the opening of the most anticipated, long awaited, stupendous movie of the decade…

STAR WARS!!

Jeremy had the great fortune to go see it the day before. That meant he couldn’t say a single word about it except that it was spectacular. The man came up with the brilliant idea we go see Star Wars! What about our baby, Riley? Jeremy would take care of our little sweetie. The rest of us were pumped! Me, I have wanted to see this movie with my son since I found out about its creation. Jeremy is the biggest Star Wars nerd ever. I created him. I saw all the movies when they hit the theaters all those years ago, Return of the Jedi six times. I bought him all the Star Wars toys I could afford and Nani bought the rest of the toys. This kid loves everything Star Wars.

We ate some lunch before the show and then off we went.

This movie delivered everything I expected and more! I loved it. They maintained the same feel and integrity of the original movies. The same type of thrilling fight scenes and space battles excited us. I don’t care if anyone thinks it might be redundant. Cleaver scenes and quips tiee into the older movies, making us react in response. Those of us who KNOW those movies love that stuff. I loved seeing the new crew peer out from under the grate inside the Mellinnium Falcon just as they did in the first movie. And when Rey pulled out a piece of electronics and said she fixed the (I can’t remember what it’s called) it was always broken in the second movie. She bypassed it! I wanted to clap for joy.

This movie has endearing robots and dark, scary bad guys and mysterious, mystical powers. Of course they kill off our favorite character. But! My all time favorite character shows up at the end – Luke. He looked awesome as an old man.

This movie delivers all the trappings of a fantastic epic saga. Thank you JJ Abrams for a movie I can’t wait to see again.

That’s my little piece of heaven and it’s a huge piece for me!

Love,

Jeannene

Leave a comment