It’s Time for Comfort Food

Standard

Today, in an effort to avoid doing some real writerly stuff, I opted to do a long over due food blog. Any blog is long overdue lately as it is. Between work and life, I find myself falling miserably short of my goal of blogging at least once a week. Had I taken my camera in tow this weekend I would have been able to share a charming piece of Americana, but sadly those moments were lost to posterity and embedded only in my memories.

Anyway… now on to the FOOD.

I’m making Chicken Pot Pie. Who doesn’t love this dish? My family loves it.

I start this by boiling chicken in a pot. This gives me broth as well as cooked meat for the dish. I used a couple of leg/thigh pieces for today’s meal.

Start my chopping 4 celery stalks, 1 medium onion and 3 large carrots.

Melt 4 tablespoons of butter in the bottom of dutch oven on medium heat and add the veggies to them. Cook until they are translucent.

To this add a small bag of frozen peas and cook for 4 or 5 minutes.

To this add 3 cups of diced chicken meat. This is dark meat, but you can use whatever you want.

Stir together and sprinkle 1 cup of flour over the mixture.

Pour over that 4 cups of chicken broth and cook at medium heat. The flour will thicken as the mixture heats. Add the 2 bullion cubes to the mixture.

Sprinkle in 1 tsp thyme and 1 tsp salt and pepper to taste.

Then pour in a cup of heavy cream. I know it’s fattening, but it really adds to the flavor. Substitute at will if you must, though.

Let this heat for about 15 mins. It’ll thicken nicely.

At this point I pull out a pie crust from the fridge, or as I did today, made crust from scratch. Scratch crust rates by the way. There is no comparison to the store-bought crust.

Take that rich brew and pour it into a large dish. This is a 15×11 pan. I reserve the largest dish for the best food.

Lay a thick covering of pie crust over the mixture.

As you can see, the crust isn’t perfect but it doesn’t have to be when you taste it.

Pop that puppy in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20 mins. The crust will brown nicely and the inside should be bubbling.

Then, of course, enjoy.

Here is the recipe in toto:

3 cups diced cooked chicken
4 celery sticks
3 lg carrots
1 med onion
8oz package frozen peas
4 cups chicken broth
2 chicken bullion cubes
1 cup flour
1 cup heavy cream
1 pie crust

This is my little piece of heaven today. Thank you for letting me share it with you.

I’d love to hear what your comfort foods are. Drop by and leave a note.

Love,
Jeannene

Today

One response »

Leave a Reply

