My Little Runner

Standard

I have a cutie who decided to run track and field this year. She loves to run, but has never done it competitively. Yesterday was the day to get her feet wet. Yesterday was the first track meet of the season. This just happens to be the day of our excursion to see Nicolas Sparks at the nearest university. So she is listed to run the 200m. This particular race is on the docket as the second to the last race.

So Mom is out at the track, hoping her little girl runs soon so we can boogy away quickly to the one thing she really would like to see.

The meet moves along very well. Before I know it they are announcing the 200m heat and I see her saunter over to the start. I have the settings on my camera ready and waiting.

I can’t believe it. There she is running with all her heart.

To me she looks so awesome. Running like a regular track star. Here she comes.

Love the intensity on her face. She is determined.

Then there is the friend at the end of the race. She and a teammate walk back to the coach. They seem so calm and collected.

You would never know she was an absolute nervous wreck before she ran. I never see her nervous. She met two young ladies from another team and they set her ease. Sports is great for making new friends.

I am so proud of her. We made our date with Nicolas Sparks with minutes to spare as well.

Sports participation is a little piece of my heaven.

Love,
Jeannene

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

