The First Night of Channukah

Standard

Greetings from this little piece of heaven. Yes, it does still exist and I am alive and kicking.

Today is the first day after the end of the Nanwrimo challenge and my head is reeling from not writing. I was 3500 words short of the 50K. I could not get those last words in, but it didn’t matter. I learned a ton about writing this month and lot about myself. The adventure was so worth the effort. Today I took care of family business and I baked and cooked. Therapy from the onslaught of plot bunnies and words.

There is nothing more cathartic than spending time creating things you can stuff into your mouth. Very satisfying.

In honor of Channukah tonight, I made some of my kids favorite cookies. They are your run of the mill Spritz cookies. Spritz is a basic butter cookie.

These are the players…. Oh.. that egg is out of one of my chickens.

Just the basics as you can see.

Mix the 1c butter with a half cup sugar.

Add 1 tsp vanilla and the egg.

Mix it all together.

Add a cup of flour.

And mix it up. Dough will be firm.

For the next step you will need a cookie press, hence the name Spritz (German for press).

Select one of those discs and surprise yourself with the pattern. The shape morphs into an uncommonly good looking cookie.

Now it is time to decorate the bland dough with bright granules of sugar or other intriguing pieces of candy.

Put them in the oven at 400 degrees for 9 minutes and voila!!

And then we have the final result. Tasty and satisfying.

Happy Channukah from my little piece of heaven.

Love,
Jeannene

7 responses »

Leave a Reply

