Oh Deer

Standard

Here in Arkansas we have entered into the regular deer season. By this I mean that you can use a modern gun to shoot deer. Our woods are peppered with hunters of all ages throughout the week in the quest to bag the perfect, if not the only, deer of the season. We don’t hunt here at our house, not unless the grocery stores close shop and there is nothing to eat. That does not mean we don’t advocate hunting, it just isn’t for our household at this time. We certainly don’t mean that to indicate we don’t use guns, which we do. We live in the country and there are strange things in them thar woods.

I do love to shoot deer, though. I use a camera lens to capture my foe. The awesome truth in that is they are alive and depicted in their natural habitat doing their natural thing. Living in the country puts me smack dab in the center of deer territory, as evidenced by the decimation of my garden every spring.

In honor of deer season, I post a couple random shots from the area. A perfect specimen, if you can see past the vegetation.

He has a pretty nice rack on that head. Not good at counting points here, but he is a hunter’s dream.

Almost hidden by nature, isn’t he?

I have heard a few shots ring out in our valley. Hope this fellow didn’t make it to someone’s dinner table.

I love being so much in touch with nature. Of course that means we are visited up by nuisances like skunks and possums – yuk. They try to eat my chickens. We must undertake measures to dissuade their presence. Brutal measures at times.

But, for today, this is my little piece of heaven.

Love to hear where yours is today.

Love,
Jeannene

One response »

Leave a Reply

