It Defies Gravity

Standard

Our weekend consisted of spending a large chunk of Sunday on the flight deck at our local air base inspecting the various types of aircraft and watching them fly amazing demonstrations. I was raised in the midst of aircraft and their amazing feats and yet I never tire of watching them fly and marvel about the men who fly them. Those men are extraordinary people. I know because my dad was one of them.

We were privileged to witness a unique aircraft do a stupendous demonstration. I love this plane and am spell-bound by its performance every time I see. It is the Harrier Jet.

It flies faster than the speed of sound and yet it also flies backward and straight up and straight down.

It even turns in circles.

Can you see it rotate slowly? I’ve always wondered what the controls of that thing look like. Is it levers, a wheel, buttons…? What awesome technology to create such a craft.

And then… the thing can wave at you, tip its wings up and down.

Pretty amazing. Then it takes off in loud roar of its afterburners, leaving the ground in its fumes. Thrilling!

Just a last look at it.

This post is and the previous are done with my dad in mind. Air shows were his thing when I was a kid and it makes me glad to be at one again-brings back all those pleasant memories. Of course, as kids we didn’t consider it with the same regard as we do now. Airplanes were a way of life and seeing another one often was misconstrued as part of the day job. There were times when whining was part of the routine. None the less, I have massively pleasant memories and immense pride knowing this was part of my dad’s world and he shared it with us kids.

I haven’t posted much lately, but these pictures were a joy to take and fix and this is about my enjoyment. I hope sharing my little piece of heaven will put you in mind of your little piece. Feel free to share. I love to be transported into all shapes of joy.

Love,
Jeannene

One response »

Leave a Reply

