Perfect Design

Standard

I spent some time in my back yard this evening. It was warm out there, but it was full of life. Our son had mowed grass today. When grass is cut it sends all sorts of tiny little creatures into the air. These small creatures fly around and they, in themselves are food for the larger flying creatures. In the light of the setting sun, I watch all sizes of dragon flies flitting around, the waning light reflecting off their bodies. It is quite a fascinating sight. The dragon flies fly around eating those itty, bitty bugs.

In the process I discovered one dragon-fly on its perch.

It looks innocuous enough, this little bug.
….but upon closer inspection.

The incredible design of this fellow makes me wax philosophic. The design of his body is perfectly suited to balance a top this tiny sliver of grass. Tiny only in width, for is rises a good four feet above the ground.

It made me think about how we are all designed for a specific purpose. Often it takes a great deal of time to discover what exactly that purpose is, but we each have one.

Dragon flies are designed perfectly to sit on tall, skinny blades of grass.

It took me years to discover how much I enjoy writing and that the stories I have created in my head and speak out loud for my children are truly a symptom of this wonderfully contagious, happy malady. They scoff at the lives I create for people we don’t know. Who knew I possessed a creative outlet?

This beautiful creature balances by adjusting the angle of its body against the angle of his wings on the stalk of grass as its six spindly legs grab hold. How it stays is a mystery.

His design is perfect for his environment.

I am sure my design is just as in tune with my environment. I love living in the country. I love watching our animals and our children. I love working outside in the green and the heat. It all lends to a creative mind and flourishing imagination.

Today’s little piece of heaven.

Love,
Jeannene

6 responses »

  1. What a trip down memory lane you just brought me. I so agree with your comments about the design of dragonflies a/k/a devil’s darning needle or just darning needles.

    When I was a young girl, my dad would take me with him to Fords Park in New Jersey. I’d play with tree bark, bugs and stones while waiting for him to finish Simonizing his car.

    My treat for waiting so patiently was for him to take me on a walk around the pond. I still picture the dragonflies flitting from pond lily to pond lily. I’d been warned by my mother and my grandmother to watch out for them, that they’d try to fly into my hair. That coupled with them referring to them as darning needles brought holy terror into me.

    Judi

    Like

Leave a Reply

