Transportation Old Style

Standard

Today I celebrate the end of a chapter of my life. I closed the door to a job I have held for the past six years. Six years. I didn’t expect to leave the security of this employment after I passed the five year mark. I never expected to stay at this position for this length of time. Seniority at this stage is advanced and the benefits are substantial – lots of time off. That alone lends itself to make one reflect about leaving a seasoned position to start at the bottom somewhere else to work her way back up the ladder. For me that had little effect. A change was in order and I jumped at it.

To celebrate something new, I give you something old. I give you something of the past. I present the tried and true forms of transportation prevalent some one hundred years ago. And it is a special joy for me, since my latest novel in placed in the old west.

Here are these wonderful wagon wheels as one would see them today.

Now, I take you to the past.

This buckboard is old and rickety.

Now it is ancient.

A donkey cart is simple today. A donkey is all that is missing.

Now we see it in the eyes of the past.

O close with more of those wonder wheels. Aged naturally, they instill a wonder in me. Where did they come from? What travels have they seen? What sort of loads did they carry? As a writer if have all sorts of stories floating through my head.

We found these treasures at the Bar Of Ranch feed store in Clinton, Arkansas. It is a feed store with fabulous cowboy furniture. This is also the home of Labor Day Chuck Wagon races.

And that my friends is my little piece of heaven today.

Love,
Jeannene

One response »

Leave a Reply

