A Fond Farewell

Standard

These are the last moments of my vacation. I have fought depression all weekend. How I dread waking at 4am and driving to the big city in the dark. This past week and a half I have evolved into a fully functioning total daylight person. I woke up every day AFTER the sun rose above the eastern horizon and fell asleep AFTER the sun set behind the western horizon. Tonight I will sleep (or attempt to) before the day is truly over. Oh well, all really great things come to end, but it effects will linger.

The caveat to all of this is – this week will be my last week at this job!! I start a new job in one week. To celebrate these momentous occasions I wish to post these wonderful pictures from my back yard. They are a simple reminder of my little happy place and a symbol of something new.

We have numerous varieties of these flying around.

A butterfly. Symbolic of new life.

The pure simplicity. Here we are just hanging out on the grass.

Quiet and beautiful.

This fellow lingered and flashed his colors lavishly for me.

These peaceful moments allow me to reflect on my writing accomplishments for this week. I took part in six different workshops during Savvy Authors Summer Symposium. I have so much stuff floating around in my brain it will be a week before it settles into something coherent. All of it was outstanding and fills in many of the innumerable gaps in the craft of writing. I have even put some of them to work. Love this stuff.

Thanks for sharing my little piece of heaven with me today.

Love,
Jeannene

2 responses »

  1. Is that a Monarch butterfly and did you use your zoom on your camera? If you used the zoom feature, try getting closer in the future and kind of sloooowwwly sneak in on it, move in slow motion, as steady as possible so as to not make any sound. Become one with the soil and with your subject.

    Like

Leave a Reply

