I Love Flying Bugs

Standard

I would like to feature an elusive little rascal. They fly all over the place and never light. C-Man will attest to the amount of time I have scurried out the door, camera in hand, to wait for one these flighty creatures to stop flying long enough for me to capture it on film, or digital media card.

Today was the day! The patience I have practiced over the weeks has paid off! You just have to see these little guys. I finally figured out they like to land on narrow fence lines.

These are dragonflies! This species is the most abundant on our farm. I have countless shot of these as a blur against the lush summer green.

I don’t have any over the top shots because this fence is as high as I am tall.

There are two little guys on this fence. I hit the jackpot.

And while I was shooting the orange bug, this beautiful blue-green dragonfly showed up.

Then, in the middle of all this, this fellow shows up. I think he wanted some attention. We have myriads of these… green grasshoppers.

I just love the color of this bug!

I’m not finished yet. Here is another species. He looks like a Wright Brothers plane. When he lands, the wings notch down into a resting position.

Here is another species. He is a big one too.

And then, last but not least… The same guy, different surroundings.

And that my friends is today’s little piece of heaven.

Love,
Jeannene

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

