I Missed It!

Standard

Today I begin the 100 days of 100 words over again as I neglected to write any words yesterday. I would love to use the excuse of working and critique weekend, but there are others with even more pressing events in their lives and they can manage with more diligence than myself.

I didn’t meet all my goals for the week. Editing is progressing well, if you call rewriting a large portion of the chapter, well. (The initial writing is atrocious. I remember some quote from a very renowned literary writer where he stated it didn’t matter how poorly you write as long as you can edit well.) I am a better editor than a writer, it seems. I still need to enter the book in that other contest. I put it off until next week as there is still plenty of time before the entry deadline. (Such a procrastinator!)

This evening the rain is falling and the kittens play outside my window. Such pleasant amenities to break the stifling heat of our summer (but, then there would be no tomatoes without the heat.) I should have some fantastic tomatoes this week with two days of rain!

Now, to entertain your sense of color and craving for the picturesque, perhaps unique. I include some shots of an astonishingly colorful fowl.

This is his dress in recess.

This blue is so incredible it is hard to believe it is on feathers and not manufactured.

This silly bird showed off for the goose on the other side of those feathers. He preened at her so I thought it interesting to show what he looks like under his skirts.

When he finally turned around, it was away from the sunlight. The intensity of the colors is severely lacking in this shot. Sorry.

He finally faced the morning sun to show you the intense natural color of those feathers. Couldn’t quite get him in full frame. He kept turning and walking closer.

This shot sucks because I couldn’t frame the entire plume. The silly bird approached me, shorting the distance in the shot. When I withdrew, the gate cut off the top of the plume.

These are some awesome colors though.

My little piece of heaven.

Love,
Jeannene

One response »

Leave a Reply

