Evidence of Summer Pests

Standard

Today was my birthday. It was an awesome birthday. For the first time in years I was actually at home. On top of that, most of my children were at home and I spent the whole day with them. It was such a great day I bought them a gift. I just enjoy their company and the fact that they are a part of my life. It is a piece of heaven.

Our oldest, the one with the hog, bought himself a new truck today. He traded his smaller truck for a Nissan Titan. It’s a beauty don’t you think? He found after driving a small truck for a year, it was too small for his needs. This from a single white male with no real girl friend. But… This is one nice truck.

The truck is only an aside. What I really want to address today is the pesky critters who have found a ready meal in my tomato garden. I have had tomatoes munched on through my few short years of gardening, but this year they are absolutely voracious.

Tomatoes are my favorite summer fruit/veggie.

These are a perfect example of this year’s crop. They are delicious.

Beautifully shaped and satisfyingly delicious.

Juicy and plump. So tempting to take a bite out of. I know first hand how wonderful these tomatoes taste. Unfortunately these temptations are not beyond the reach of some little animal who has found my garden and made it its own table.

These are only small snacks for some rabbit or skunk or something.

But this…. This was one greedy little critter.

I prefer to forget the painful loss of those perfectly good pieces of fruit and remember this instead.

We will enjoy the tomatoes that have not become varmint fodder and I will let go of the loss.

This is my little piece of heaven today.

Love,
Jeannene

2 responses »

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! It looks to me like you might have a box turtle in your garden somewhere? That’s what used to destroy our tomatoes like that. I hope you’ve had a wonderful day.

    Like

  2. I used to grow veggies but the critters always got them before I did. Now my DIL does the growing and I stick to Farmville on Facebook. Happy Birthday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

