Weekend Muse

Standard

This weekend was the Arkansas Writer’s Conference in town. It was wonderful connecting with writers of all genres and finding the wonderful people in my area. I learned a bunch, being as I am, as a novice, a blank slate and anything you throw at me will stick somewhere on that slate.

More encouraging than even the small glimmers of knowledge was the renewed muse in my writing. Thursday, before the conference even started, a boring trip into town resulted in a wonderful idea for a novella. I sketched the thing out that afternoon.

At the conference more details of the climax to my WIP resolved itself from a scene already written into the middle of the book. I almost couldn’t contain myself as I attempted to take notes of the new revelation and notes from the speaker at the time. If the weekend didn’t yield another thing, that was worth it in itself. Wooo wooo! I have been struggling with this climax and all the details tying into each other and this event makes it complete.

Then this morning, as I’m sitting there waiting for the first speaker to be announced, a little short story hit my brain. I am getting that down tonight.

I just love it when my brain relaxes and something worth while actually oozes out of it.

I know this isn’t much, but it is my personal piece of heaven today.

Love,
Jeannene

4 responses »

  1. Sometimes a break or a change of scene wakes up my muse. Whatever does it, it’s a fabulous feeling when an idea comes. You’re on a roll now. Go with it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

