Tassles A Flying

Standard

This weekend, being Memorial Day week and all, the next big town had a rodeo scheduled Saturday night. I asked Corvette Man to take me. I have wanted to try my camera on some live action. I already know it performs well while I’m traveling at 70 miles per hour, but I wanted to see what that baby could do on a moving object at about 20 miles per hour. Another challenge for me was the manual settings in diminished light. I used the 70mm to 300mm telephoto with a high ISO, low aperture and fast shutter speed. I am pleased with the settings and the performance of the camera.

Even more fun than just watching those rugged cowboys ride those wonderful horses was watching every action up close through the telephoto lens. It felt like I was up close and they were in my face. The seating in this area was perfect for catching the action too.

This cowboy is testing his skills on a bareback bronc and I must say he rode well. Most outstanding in his ride were those wonderful red chaps with the fringe flaying in all directions. I just love the way those chaps turned out in each shot.

He held on to that pony and let her rip.

Whee Ha! he’s got ‘er.

Hang on cowboy! Hang on!

Do you see those fringes a flying. Beautiful.

That bronc gave him a ride to remember.

He stayed on for the whole 8 seconds. Don’t recall the score, but the crowd was pleased with that ride.

This was only one ride.

We only stayed as long as our behinds could withstand the concrete seats on which we sat, which was only about an hour and a half. We still managed to see the saddle broncs, the bull doggers and the calf roping. I couldn’t endure the concrete for my favorite – barrel racing. I still had a great time.

Hope your week end held as much excitement as ours.

My little piece of heaven today.

Love,
Jeannene

7 responses »

  1. HI Jeannene,

    Brings back the memory of when Jeff and I were out west and happened to be lucky enough to see the high school rodeo in Cody Wyoming. 🙂

    Like

  2. That’s what I was thinking, a story idea. That cowboy would have to be rugged, and oh don’t they make the best heros? Your photography is awesome. Thanks for sharing them with us. Who knows, your pictures might inspire the writer in all of us…Keep um coming…

    Like

  3. Jeannene,

    Great shots! Have you studied photojournalism, or do photo essays
    just come naturally to you. Also, what
    kind of camera are you shooting with?

    My favorite of all of mine is my Nikon FM2.
    That baby shoots down to 1 4,000th of a second. It’s one of the original hard bodies and is black so there is no glare bounce off.
    I just love it … will never have such affection for digital.

    Judi

    Like

Leave a Reply

