How Does the Garden Grow?

Standard

I spent the day at home yesterday, ah sweet respite. Being at home from work doesn’t mean I don’t work, though. I prefer the work at home over my paying job, but it doesn’t pay as well. It might very well feed us if I can get the garden to produce enough. Last year’s disaster of a garden has inspired me to make this year’s garden thrive. The tempered amount of rain this year promises an abundant harvest.

I just had to share the growth already underway in our little plot. This is the fourth year at this location. It took me a couple of years to find just the right spot. Buckets of horse manure in the soil help the good stuff to thrive here, but the pasture grasses and weeds continue to try to overwhelm the clean dirt. I am on weed patrol at every opportunity. I hate weeds. I hate bending over to pull them. I hate their unruly patterns of growth and their spindly leaves. Worst of all, they choke my beautiful plants from producing fruit and veggies.

This is the largest tomato plant in my garden. It is a huge plant bedecked with buds and even a few small green tomatoes.

We have onions. Don’t mind those stray green leaves close to the ground.

Garlic is coming along well. Again, ignore all the extraneous plant growth. Straw should be strewn between the plants, but I didn’t have any handy at the time.

The beans, on the other hand, have been ravaged by the deer. Can you see the nubs protruding among the leaves? Deer bites. Sad little stems gnawed off before they could produce.

It could be worse. The rest of the garden could have become deer fodder.
This is a close up of the beans.

Please don’t judge me for the white powder. In my twisted sense of reasoning I figured since it keeps bugs off the plants, perhaps it will deter the deer.

The peppers are thriving and even small peppers are growing.

See the tiny bead of a pepper?

The summer squash is flourishing. I haven’t seen this large a plant in a couple of years.

We’ll even have squash in a week’s time.

The cabbage leaves are folding around themselves to form the initial stages of a head.

And the broccoli is on the verge of sprouting its trees.

The cucumbers are beginning their climb and fruit will ensue from these blooms.

I sprinkled seven dust on those plants to waylay the treacherous little squash beetles and worms. I hate to use insecticide, but daily bug control is not in my agenda.

Further garden updates will be posted. Canning tomatoes this summer is my primary goal. I love tomatoes and they seem to like their new place this year, full of blooms and heavy with green tomatoes.

Thank you for allowing me to share this with you.

A slice of heaven in the green.

Love and shalom,
Jeannene

4 responses »

  1. You’re so far ahead of us. We’re just getting squash in, and my tomatoes and peppers are mostly about 4 inches tall.

    On the other hand, I don’t have to worry about deer! If you have cats or dogs, try putting fur in the beds. Don’t know if it work on deer, but it seems to be repelling bunnies. Too late for the lettuce, but maybe it’ll save everything else!

    Like

  2. I heard hair clippings can keep the deer out of the garden. They smell humans.. I miss my garden this year. After years Tom built me a raised bedto grow my veggies. I moved and I do not have one this year. the farmers market starts next month so fresh will come. have fun weeding. the most tedious chore ever.A good job for the kids (remember all the times we had to weed).

    Like

Leave a Reply

