Peaceful, serene in the Face of Tumult

Standard

I write this as we listen, with vigilance, to the weather reports for areas in our state that are under tornado warnings and severe weather assaults. We have no rain at our little farm, yet, but that will end soon. I just need to post something tonight as I have been lazy beyond belief this week. My efforts have been consumed by the edits on the first chapter of a novel I am prepping for entry in contests. For some reason I find it difficult to multitask writing projects. I hope this isn’t a sign of advancing age. I can still manage three things at one time in my day job and even at home.

I also have a wonderful announcement. We have made contact with our new kittens! Is is now a month since the mama cat appeared without a bulge in her tummy. Every day she emerges for food and shows signs of being suckled. Today the kittens emerged from their tidy space on their own. There are three of them. One is a calico stripe, one is black and the last is a grey stripe. Regretfully there are no pictures today as they became disconcerted and loud meowing ensued. At that point they were returned to their little cubby spot until tomorrow.

To appease my sense of color and serenity I submit to you this awe inspiring sunset from earlier this week. Amazing to find such colors in an Arkansas sunset. The cloud cover, a filmy, nebulous shroud hovering close to the horizon reflected the sun’s light in a precise angle to render these stunning shades.

This is the tree line on the east side of our house. The sunlight on it is stunning.

The sun just sinks lower into the west.

This really the color of the sky. My camera captured its intensity beautifully(I think). The lower the sun retreated, the more coral the shade of the sky.

Again, I love this little piece of heaven.

Love,
Jeannene

Leave a Reply

