Escape! How fast can you go?

Standard

I spent the day today on the front porch. I love being outside and our house is surrounded by spacious porches making outside living fully capable. It is this beautiful weather that induces my presence on the porch. Of course being outside means there are so many new distractions to capture my already vacillating attention, preventing continuous concentration on any one task which I have undertaken.

A perfect example of my straying attention is this…

A small box turtle wandered aimlessly onto my porch and then it sat at this spot. It sat here for a long time, waiting for the cat to go away, which it did finally.


Sorry about the focus, I obvious wasn’t paying any attention to the camera settings.

After thirty or so minutes it finally moved.

It poked its head out and remained stationary for another twenty minutes. I was fascinated that this creature maintained its position for such a long time.

He tucked a foot back in before deciding to move again.

Verrry slowly he starts to move.

Look! Look! We have contact with all four feet. He pushes off with a little foot.

A small step…

…much later is another small step.

Oh my! He’s starting to really take off!

A big step. He was comfortable with his surrounding at this point, the time intervals between movements increased to at least a half a minute.

Another large step!

He is really moving now.

After this last shot I returned my attention to my writing at hand and when I returned to the little turtle… it was gone.

It sure could move when it wanted to.

I know this is rather banal, but it gave me such pleasure to have a turtle visit me – along with the cats and the chickens. Obviously I’m easily entertained.

Just a little piece of heaven on the farm.

Love,
Jeannene

3 responses »

  1. Great find! Box turtle populations are in decline nation wide, and are protected in most states. The fact that this is a juvenile is very important, as recruitment is a major factor in a wild population’s survival. Just to give you an idea of how lucky this fellow is, 90% of box turtle eggs are predated, of those who survive 90% of the hatchlings are predated. This guy has overcome some amazing odds. This is a wonderful series of photos. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

