I Had a Dream

Standard

The other night I had a dream about my Dad.

Ordinarily, dreams aren’t anything I give a great deal of time and effort to, but this one was significant. They rarely are remembered in the detail with which I was able to recall this dream. Every detail and nuance returned to me the moment I awoke.

My dad has been suffering from a slowly debilitating disease for nigh on twenty years, which in itself attests to his dog-headedness. Recently he had a particularly difficult bout of treatment leaving him weak and tired. It brought home to all of us the true nature of his mortality.

This dream takes place inside a small passenger jet, the size of an American Eagle jet. My dad was a jet fighter pilot when he was younger, so this is significant. I stood behind the second row of seats, which were higher than the seats in an AE plane, and Dad stood in the space leading to the cockpit. Dad was in his thirties, the prime of his life. I faced him and we were visiting when suddenly the section of the plane I stood in started falling away. Panic filled me in an instant. Without a thought, Dad reached over the tops of the seats and grabbed my arms. He fell away from the front of the plane with me.

As the fuselage separated, the floor around my feet began to disappear revealing open space, darkness with blurry orbs of light floating in it. Abject fear coursed through me. I kept praying “Please Lord make this go away. Please put this back together.” We floated for a short time before the floor began to materialize again and the plane itself put itself back together. Then Dad let go of me and walked to the cockpit.

The End.

I’m sure this had something to do with his illness and the fear of loosing him. I want him to stay and he will always be my Dad and there is a place I will find him.

I couldn’t say this dream out loud without crying, so I wrote it down.

He is doing so much better today and we are looking forward to many more happy visits. I love you Dad.
I will always find you in my piece of heaven.

Love,
Jeannene

4 responses »

  1. Jeannene, I’m glad to hear your dad is doing better. I can’t imagine having to watch go through his illness, but I’m sure you’re a source of strength to him. You and your family are in my prayers.

    Like

  2. I had a dream too. We went somewhere together and saw some really neat things. It was a new world with life. We had to go through a portal together. There we explored to life . Meet the people shared a meal and was involved with their lioves. Then it was time to go. I just kept asking to come,but he wanted to stay. He liked where this new world was and he felt good there. I was scared and kept urging him to come wityh me. But I knew I had to let him go. It made him happy and he felt like his old self. I woke up but I know what ever his desecions are it is for him and as his daughter I have to honor it. I love dad too.and he is the bravest and kindest man I know. Love you Sis

    Like

  3. JEANNEN, YOUR PIECE ON YOUR DRAM A OUT DAD IS GREAT.

    I HAVE DREAMT ABOUT HIM FOR YEARS AND THE ENDING IS ALWAYS THE SAME. HE GOES AWAY. I AWAKEN SAD AND LONELY. I FINALLY FIGURED IT OUT. I HAVE TO RELINQUISH HIM TO HIS ETERNAL REWARD. HE HAS BEEN PART OF MY LIFE FOR OVER 58 YARS, EVEN THOUGH WE HAVE BEEN SEPARATED FOR OVER HALF THAT AMOUNT OF TIME. IT IS HARD TO EVEN THINK ABOUT HIM NOT BEING HERE. I KNOW HOW DIFFICULT IT IS FOR YOU KIDS. YOUR BLOG CERTAINLY MUST BE PLEASING TO HIM. THIS PARTICUAR ONE IT TERRIFIC, ESPECIALLY THE PIX OF HIM.

    THANKS FOR WRITING ABOUT YOUR DREAM. IT GIVES US ALL A CHANCE TO SHARE OUR THOUGHTS ABOUT A GREAT DAD , A GOOD HUSBAND, AND MAN.

    I LOVE YOU,

    MOTHER

    Like

  4. Jeannene, thank you so much for sharing your dreams and giving all of us who love him the opportunity to express our dreams and love. I have read them all to him through my tears and it pleased him very much. He loves all of you so much and prays for you all daily. Your visits have meant so much. He has now finished his radiation and feels he is experiencing improvement. He is excited about being able to understand lines of words when he attempts to read them. His speech is still garbled but he can make you understand. We won’t know if that will improve for several weeks. His second nature abilities are second to none and the saw continues to run, the yard continues to be cared for and the CAR continues to be driven!!!! Barbara and George have generously opened their home in the mountains to a reunion of his brothers and sisters in May and he is soooo looking forward to that reunion. I have put the trailer in the hands of the Lord and know he will take care of selling it before Dad decides to TAKE A TRIP! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

