Heavenly Southwest Chicken

Standard

One day, a couple of weeks ago, I had the need to come up with a tasty meal. Let’s just suffice it to say – the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach. I was in dire need of some brownie points and this idea won them for me.

The chicken breasts sitting in my refrigerator called to me and bacon and cheese and green chiles sang a harmony I was loathe to ignore. When I put this all together the final result was delightfully tasty and remarkably easy. I knew I had to share it with the world.

These are the main ingredients.

Buttermilk is in the jar in the rear. Any sort of cotija cheese will do, cayenne pepper, whole green chilies and 3 or 4 cloves of garlic. I realize this garlic looks funny. It is home grown and has hung on the porch all winter.

These are bread crumbs. I never remember to buy them so I toasted four slices of bread and put them through the food processor and voila! Prefect bread crumbs.

I use turkey bacon because we keep a kosher household, but regular bacon is just fine.

Three whole chicken breasts cut in half length wise and tenderized – flattening them nicely.

Mince the cloves of garlic and add to two cups of buttermilk.

Add 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper (or more if you want more of a kick) and add this to the buttermilk as well.

Take one tenderized piece of chicken.

Place half of a whole green chile and center it on the chicken.

Center a piece of bacon doubled over on the green chile.

Now we place a square pat of cheese in the middle of the whole thing.

This next step requires some finesse. Carefully roll the whole thing together and anchor with a toothpick, which I neglectfully forgot to take a picture of (along with about ten other steps I now realize).

The roll is now dipped into the buttermilk mixture. Roll it around to soak it thoroughly.

The buttermilk dipped roll is now rolled in the bread crumbs.

Make sure it is really coated. It’s the crispy that makes it stand out, not to mention those chiles.

This recipe makes six pieces. Place them on a greased pan and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

When they come out the cheese has melted slightly and the flavors are melded together.

This is how they appear cooked. Believe me the flavors are incredible and the cayenne on the outside makes it so yummy.

Even my daughter couldn’t wait to give this a try.

Corvette Man loves these. He didn’t even balk at the spicy kick of the cayenne pepper.
I must note I made no mention of salt in this recipe. We are on a low salt diet at our house requiring the food to be seasoned by alternate methods (cayenne pepper here). Season to your own tastes.

Enjoy.

Heavenly Southwest Chicken

3 whole chicken breasts
4 cloves garlic
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
2 cups buttermilk
2 cups bread crumbs
6 slices turkey bacon
4 oz. cotija cheese
1 small can whole green chiles
6 toothpicks

Cut each chicken breast in half length wise and tenderize the six pieces.
To the buttermilk add the four minced cloves and cayenne pepper.
Layer the chicken with green chile, bacon, cheese and roll in a tight roll. Secure with a toothpick. Dip the roll into buttermilk mixture then coat well with bread crumbs. Place on a greased pan and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

Thanks for letting my share this small slice of heaven. Food is always a great slice!

Love,
Jeannene

2 responses »

  1. Oh, Jeannene, this looks wonderful. I’m definitely putting it on next week’s menu. I love spicy food, one of the things I miss being here. The Germans don’t do spicy, for the most part. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

