Passover

Standard

I have had a week in which two weeks could be packed into it, it seems. It is almost over and I have only posted two days on this blog. Between a week end away, a challenging on line writing class and double shift last night, the events of my week have all but swallowed me. Today I am off and reveling in the beautiful weather and catching up on home and hearth. It is liberating and refreshing and the sun instills fresh life into my stale brain and body.

Tuesday evening we celebrated the feast of Passover – Pesach in Hebrew. I want to share some of the foods we ate and how they were prepared. I usually take an entire day to make these preparations, but I was able to accomplish my task with in the few short hours between three and five. Its a miracle!!

Since Passover snuck up on me this year, there were no trips to the store to procure matzahs and packages of matzah ball soup. Matzah is a central theme of the feast, so its absence would be felt intensely. I found a recipe on the web and proceeded to make some.

Flour and water and oil and salt are combined to make a dough which is rolled out flat, pierced with a fork and then baked.

This recipe was pretty darn good if I do say so myself.

Another food on our seder plate is haroset. It is a mash of apples and almonds combined with honey and red wine. It tastes pretty good.

This works especially well in a food processor.

Then, of course, you need to put it in a colorful bowl.

The main dish of our meal were lamb chops grilled on an open flame. I seasoned these with a little Lowery’s season salt and threw them on the fire and they cooked beautifully. The final product was an outstanding flavor. They were out of this world delicious. The only problem being they are so small and we only had six of them. We could have eaten two or three a piece.

Then we taught our children about the Passover and ate our meal and enjoyed each others company.

Happy Pesach.

My treasured piece of heaven.

Love,
Jeannene

One response »

Leave a Reply

