Family

Standard

A couple of weeks ago we went to Alabama to visit my Dad and step mom. It was a great trip. Family is always our mainstay, that group of beautiful people who ground us to this earth and remind who we really are, be it small or great. In my case, my brother and sister reminded me how small I truly am, yet how loved we are and how much my small existence influenced their lives, even as kids.

I am the oldest of six children, all of whom are only about a year apart in age. Incredible isn’t it? How on this earth did my mother manage? All I can say is she is a saint. I raised four kiddos and they were years apart, so the trauma of multiple small bodies converging in one area around one person never occurred in my life.

We all grew up well adjusted, I think. At least my folks will tell you that.

This is my dad. Seeing him was a joy, talking with him enlightening. Dad built the house these pictures are taken in and he has built numerous cabinets and pieces of wood furniture in this workshop.

My sister Leslie is a year younger than me. We used to fight like a cat and a dog when we were small, but we are thick as thieves now we have discarded childish foibles and bonded as sisters. I can talk to her about everything and she doesn’t judge or condemn she just loves me for what I am… her sister.

I like this picture of her. Her life hasn’t been easy, but she is a strong woman and knows what it takes to make a change and she isn’t afraid to do what is required. Go for it girl!!

I was blessed to meet a second cousin I have seen before. She and her husband moved to Alabama from Michigan (my family is from the Great Lakes State) just four months ago. This is Heather and her husband JT.

I have a very large family and I am ashamed to say I know very few of the children of my first cousins.

This is my brother Chris. He the youngest of us all and he was the golden child. As the youngest child whose older siblings included three girls, he was spoiled and doted upon. We loved that kid. He was carried every where we went because he was a living, moving, REAL doll. Speaking was never a requirement for Chris, all he had to do was point and we would get it for him. Mom said he was three before he ever said his first word.

He is still a cutie, but then I’m a biased source.

This is rare picture of Corvette Man. I am rarely permitted to post his picture, but this one is great. I like the three of them sitting around nashing and chewing the fat.

This is Colet, my step mom. She is a rock and a gem of one at that.

This is a wonderful piece of heaven. We’ll see them again this week end to pick up our son who spent the week with them, bless their hearts, taking on one of our children for a week.

Love,
Jeannene

Leave a Reply

