What’s For Dinner?

Standard

Since the purchase of my new camera, I have wanted to chronicle the preparation of a meal. Skill is involved when the photographer is right handed and she is required to utilize her left hand to dip, pour and sprinkle items. Keeping food particles out of the camera always presents a challenge as well.

I find it so enjoyable to take pictures of food! Of course food is a favorite thing in our life. The first words out of my daughter’s mouth when she walks in the door is “What’s for dinner?” and I am expected to reply promptly with a delectably mouthwatering and hunger satisfying culinary delight. I am high on the ratings scale as of late, but there have been some meager weeks in the past.

Tonight’s dinner is my mother’s version of Beef Stroganoff. I learned to make this dish as a kid and it has stuck with me all these many years. It is simple and tasty and satisfying. It is a one dish meal and those are my most favorite kind, being I am a working mom.

This recipe requires the following:

A medium yellow onion and four cloves of garlic. I use four because I love garlic. Two will very likely be sufficient.

Don’t pay any mind to those tails on the garlic. I grow my own and these have hung under the porch since late summer. They tend to sprout a bit in the mean time.

A pound of ground beef.

1 cup sour cream.

A package of egg noodles. This happens to be a 12oz. bag, but a 16 oz bag will work better.

Mince the garlic and onions and saute them in 2 tbls of butter (yes butter!) until golden brown.

Add the ground beef and saute with the onions and garlic. Sprinkle in 1tsp of dry basil (fresh basil would be best, but we are fresh out) into the cooking meat.

While the meat is cooking it is time to make a white sauce. In a medium sauce pan melt 2 tbls butter.

In a separate bowl add 1/2 cup of flour…

…to 2 cups of milk and whisk them together.

Add the flour and milk mixture to the butter and simmer on medium heat for 5 to 7 minutes until the mixture thickens, then remove from the heat.

Once the meat is cooked through, pour the white sauce into the meat and stir it together.

Now add 1 cup of sour cream. This is THE ingredient to this dish.

If you will notice, I didn’t skimp on the cup. I made it a generous cup. I love sour cream.

Stir this all together.

I should have mentioned you need to put the noodles on to cook so they will be ready at this point. Pour the drained noodles into the creamy meat mixture.

…and mix them all together to thoroughly coat every noodle with the sauce.

Serve and eat.

I should tell you that mushrooms are an excellent addition in this dish, I just forgot to cook them. This is wonderful served with peas or a salad.

Thank you for indulging me tonight.

I hope your slice was as good as mine today.

Love,
Jeannene

Leave a Reply

